Asian Noodle Salad Recipe

asian-salad

Ok, seriously, this was pretty delicious.

I found the recipe for this on http://www.AllGoneVegan.com and I’m so glad I did!  I added in a few other vegetables to give it more crunch and made a few changes thanks to the limitations of my grocery store.

Here we go!

The sauce:

  • 1/4 cup smooth natural peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup tamari or other soy sauce
  • 1 tbs rice vinegar
  • 1-3 tbs Asian chill paste (depending on how spicy you want it)
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup of water, possibly

The noodles:

  • 1 package (3.2 oz) instant pad Thai noodles (put the sauce packet aside, you’ve got your own delicious sauce!)
  • 1-3 tbs toasted sesame oil
  • 1/2 cup ready made coleslaw mix (I picked the one with cabbage and carrots)
  • ½ small red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 bunch scallions, minced
  • 1/2 cup bean sprouts

The sauce is so easy to make! Just mix up all of the ingredients until smooth.  I didn’t need to add the water because I used very smooth peanut butter and also, I couldn’t completely, completely drain the noodles (see below!).  Set it aside.

So about the noodles:  remember I only have a microwave available here at work so I’m limited.  I imagine that some stove top noodles would be better.  I heated up the water in a microwave save bowl for about 5 1/2 minutes.  I dropped the instant noodles in the bowl and put it back in the microwave for another 1 1/2 minutes.  Drain.  (Note: I have no colander so I have to drain with the lid for the bowl.  That means I can’t always get the noodles perfectly drained but since the sauce called for water I didn’t see the harm in leaving that tiny bit of water in there.)

Cover the noodles with the sesame oil.  I put 1-3 tbs because it seemed to take 3 tbs to get my noodles completely covered.  Also, I love the taste of sesame oil.  Add the coleslaw, red bell pepper, scallions, and bean sprouts.  And then mix in the sauce.  I actually held back a bit on the sauce and just used enough to cover the noodles.

I can definitely see adding in more carrots, cilantro, yellow bell pepper, and maybe some edamame.  I don’t think you can go wrong with adding more veggies!

Serves 2-3

4 responses to “Asian Noodle Salad Recipe

Leave a comment