Vegan Pizza

vegan pizza

For all of you seasoned vegans out there, this one may be for you.  But I’ll tell you what, it’s definitely not for me.

Regardless, I tried it and it goes into the stockpile of lunchtime recipes for inspiration.  This lunchtime disaster has already inspired some new ideas about lunchtime vegan pizza for tomorrow.

 

Here’s the recipe:

HEB Thin Rounds bread

1/4 cup Classico Signature Recipes Pizza Sauce, Traditional

1/2 cup Go Veggies! Shreds, Mozzarella Style

1/2 red bell pepper

2 Tbsp roasted garlic

1/4 cup fresh mushrooms

Guess what?  The office has a toaster and though I’ve been scared to use it previously, it was important to me to toast the bread to make it a little more pizza-esque.  So toast if you can.

After the disaster of one of the slices of bread getting stuck in the toaster, I got it out and spread the Traditional Pizza Sauce on top.  Put down a layer of the Veggie Mozzarella Shreds and top it with mushrooms, bell pepper, mushrooms + bell peppers, or any other veggie you want to see on your pizza.  Put it in the microwave for about 45 seconds to melt the vegan cheese.

I’m going to be honest, I bought a pack of Tofurky Pepperoni Slices and after a taste test decided against them forever.  But the Mozzarella shreds, though they taste a bit like dried out string cheese, when melted were not so bad.

I think what I actually really didn’t like was the bread.  Choose your bread wisely!  I may be trying again with some different bread and a different take on what pizza can be.

Leave a comment